

The University of New Mexico

School of Law Office of the Dean 1117 Stanford NE Albuquerque, NM 87131-1431 Telephone (505) 277-4700 FAX (505) 277-0068

<u>MEMORANDUM</u>

٩.,

TO: LAW FACULTY



LEO M. ROMERO, DEAN FROM:

January 31, 1994 DATE:

FACULTY MEETING AGENDA SUBJECT:

Faculty Meeting January 31, 1994 **Dean's Conference Room** 4:00 p.m.

- Approval of Minutes of January 24, 1994 1.
- 2. Dean's Report
- Report from Faculty Appointments Committee 3.
- **New Business** 4.

January 31, 1994

Faculty Meeting Minutes School of Law Dean's Conference Room, 4:00 p.m.

- PRESENT: Anspach, Bergman, Burr, Desiderio, Ellis, W., Fort, Gonzales, Hall, Hart, Hermann, Kelly, Kovnat, Mathewson, Norwood, Occhialino, Romero, Sanders, Scheible-Wolf, Schwartz, Sedillo Lopez, Taylor, Utton, Winograd.
- ABSENT: Browde, Ellis, J., Gill, MacPherson, Martinez, Scales.

The meeting was called to order by Dean Leo Romero.

Dean Romero stated that the minutes of the January 24, 1994, Faculty Meeting will be voted on for approval at the next regular Faculty Meeting on February 7, 1994.

Subcommittee on Promotion, Tenure and Reappointment:

The Subcommittee on Promotion, Tenure and Reappointment presented their reports on Judith Anspach (recommending reappointment as Law Library Director and Associate Professor of Law), Gloria Valencia-Weber (recommending reappointment to a three-year contract and promotion to the rank of Associate Professor), and Denise Fort (recommending reappointment to a three-year contract and promotion to the rank of Associate Professor). After proper motion and second, a motion to adopt the reports of the Subcommittee carried. Dean Romero thanked the Subcommittee for the reports and asked them to get the reports to Peggy Lovato this week so that the recommendations could be forwarded to the Provost's office.

Faculty Appointments Committee:

On behalf of the Faculty Appointments Committee, Professor Robert Desiderio recommended that the faculty invite the following seven people for interviews for the tenure-track position to begin in the Fall of 1994:

Local: Nancy Cook, Margaret Montoya, Pamela Minzner.

Non-Local: Laura Gomez, Anne Dupre, Julie O'Sullivan, Jean Montoya.

Professor Desiderio added that if any of the local people withdraw, or if Laura Gomez withdraws, no alternates will be asked to interview. If any of the other non-local people withdraw, alternates from the next seven on the list will be invited to interview so that at least three non-local candidates will be interviewed.

Professor Al Utton made the motion to accept the recommendation of the Committee. The motion was seconded by Professor Maureen Sanders.

Professor Rob Schwartz moved to amend the Committee's report by adding Maria Tai Wolff to the list of people to be invited for interviews. The motion was seconded by Professor Bill Ellis.

Upon a vote of the faculty, it was decided to follow the modified Committee recommendation and to set up a minimum of six interviews. At the next regular Faculty Meeting on Monday, February 7, 1993, the Faculty Appointments Committee will report on which of these candidates can come for interviews, and at that time the faculty will be able to suggest alternates they wish to have invited.

After discussion of the length and type of the interviews to be held, it was decided that the Committee, in consultation with the Dean, will decide upon the format.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Margaret a. Janek

Margaret A. Banek

mb