Faculty Hiring Meeting Minutes December 4, 2015

Faculty: Marsha Baum, Sherri Burr, Jim Ellis, Scott England, Eileen Gauna, Scott Hughes, John LaVelle, Nathalie Martin, Serge Martinez, Alfred Mathewson, Jenny Moore, Adrian Oglesby, Aliza Organick, Mary Pareja, Sergio Pareja, Alex Ritchie, Dave Sidhu, Carol Suzuki. Kevin Tu, Cliff Villa, John Whitlow, Jeanette Wolfley, Christine Zuni Cruz

Staff members: Jeffery Dubinski-Neessen, Beth Kaimowitz, and Raylene Weis

The meeting was called to order at 10:30 a.m. The Faculty Appointments Committee (FAC) Chair, Prof. Nathalie Martin, introduced the other members of the FAC: Professors Aliza Organick, John LaVelle, Kevin Tu, and Cliff Villa.

The candidates that will be discussed and voted on today include:

The reports for each candidate were given by the following Committee members:

Prof. Alex Ritchie – Samantha Ruscavage-Barz Prof. Alex Ritchie – Laura Sanchez-Rivét Prof. Aliza Organick – Jared Carter

Prof. Cliff Villa – reference checks for all applicants

After the reports were given on each candidate, a discussion of each candidate followed.

For the acceptability vote (candidate must meet 40% minimum), which took place by private ballot, all 3 candidates met the minimum 40% vote for acceptability to advance to discussions. There was further discussion of each candidate, and a call to vote was made.

A Motion was made and seconded to make an offer for either a permanent or possibly a visitorship position. Upon vote by private ballot, none of the candidates met the 60% vote to extend an offer. The hiring search for an Environmental Law Clinical faculty member was unsuccessful.

The meeting was adjourned by motion and decision at 12:30 p.m.