Faculty Hiring Meeting Minutes November 24, 2015

Faculty: Sherri Burr, Yael Cannon, Jim Ellis, Scott England, Eileen Gauna, Steven Homer, John LaVelle, Nathalie Martin, Serge Martinez, Alfred Mathewson, Jenny Moore, Aliza Organick, Mary Pareja, Sergio Pareja, Alex Ritchie, Dave Sidhu, Carol Suzuki. Kevin Tu, Cliff Villa, John Whitlow, Christine Zuni Cruz, and staff member, Raylene Weis

The meeting was called to order at 3:05 p.m. The Faculty Appointments Committee Chair, Prof. Nathalie Martin, introduced the other members of the FAC: Professors Aliza Organick, John Lavelle, Kevin Tu, and Cliff Villa.

Announcements:

Prof. Cliff Villa updated the faculty regarding concerns of campus safety in light of recent events across the country, and prior thefts at the law school. The Building & Safety Committee will forward proposals in January for discussion in Spring 2015.

Prof. Carol Suzuki, on behalf of the Assessment & Teaching Committee, reported on the Federal loan issue and students who are not prepared for the profession. The ABA is taking control of Assessment and Student Learning Outcomes in order to develop and implement a plan, review the assessments and determine areas for improvement, to be based on SLO criteria that was determined by the faculty last academic year (2014-15), followed by a survey in Spring 2016.

The candidates that will be discussed and voted on today include: Joshua Kastenberg, Erin Collins, Valena Beety, Placido Gomez and Maryam Ahranjani

The reports for each candidate were given by the following Committee members:

Prof. Aliza Organick – Joshua Kastenberg

Prof. John LaVelle - Erin Collins

Prof. Kevin Tu – Valena Beety

Prof. Clif Villa – Placido Gomez

Prof. Nathalie Martin – Maryam Ahranjani

After the reports were given on each candidate, a discussion of each candidate followed.

For the acceptability vote (candidate must meet 40% minimum), which took place by private ballot, all candidates passed the 40% vote of acceptability.

Further discussion of each candidate took place before the 60% vote of the order desired to extend offers.

Upon vote by private ballot, candidates Erin Collins and Valena Beety met the 60% vote to extend offers. After vote by private ballot, should one of the first two candidates decline the offer, the next offer would be made to candidate Joshua Kastenberg. After vote by private ballot, should both of the first two candidates, or the third candidate Joshua Kastenberg decline the offer, candidate Maryam Ahranjani would be extended an offer.

The meeting was adjourned by motion and vote at 5:20 p.m.