Faculty Meeting Tuesday, May 10, 2016

The meeting was called to order by Dean Sergio Pareja at 3:07 p.m.

Faculty: Stan Adelman, Marsha Baum, Reed Benson, Kip Bobroff, Camille Carey, Scott England, Scott Hughes, Lucretia Jaramillo, John LaVelle, Jennifer Laws, Nathalie Martin, Serge Martinez, Alfred Mathewson, Jennifer Moore, Aliza Organick, Mary Pareja, Sergio Pareja, Alex Ritchie, Alexandra Siek, David Stout, Carol Suzuki, Sherri Thomas, John Whitlow, Peter Winograd, Christine Zuni Cruz

Staff: Krista Allen, Beth Gillia, William Jackson, Cyndi Johnson, Raylene Weis

Students: Tess Williams

1. Announcements:

- UNM Service Awards were announced for the following: 10 years: Sherri Thomas, Melissa Lobato; 5 years: Gordon Rahn, Brent Bailey
- UNM Law School professors John LaVelle and Barbara Creel spoke to a large audience of students at Columbia Law School about their amicus brief for *United States v. Bryant*.
- Professor Kevin K. Washburn has been honored by the Board of Directors of the National Indian Child Welfare Association (NICWA) with the 2016 Champion for Native Children Award.
- Professor Carol Suzuki has been appointed the Chair of the Planning Committee for the Association of American Law Schools (AALS) 2017
- A 2015 article by Dean Sergio Pareja was selected as one of five likely to generate the greatest interest to estate and gift tax professionals.
- Email Migration a meeting is scheduled in two weeks among the Law Deans, President Frank and the Provost regarding logistics for the email migration.
- A new Director of Admissions has been named David Pallozzi has accepted the offer and will begin on June 6, 2016.
- Visiting Professor Stan Adelman addressed the meeting with his appreciation for his time here at the Law School, thanking everyone for the experience.
- Student Honors & Awards event takes place on Friday, May 13 in the Forum, beginning at 2:00 p.m.
- Prof. Alex Ritchie announced that the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation had awarded \$18,500 in scholarship funds to 3 UNM School of Law students.
- **2.** Approval of Minutes from April 12, 2016 Meeting: A motion was made by Prof. Aliza Organick, and seconded by Prof. Scott England, to approve the minutes, with the correction of adding Cyndi Johnson's name to those in attendance, and passed unanimously.
- **3.** Assessment and Teaching Committee Report Prof. Carol Suzuki handed out the results of the survey faculty members took part in regarding Student Learning Outcomes.
- **4. Designation of Clinic Section ACTION ITEM** Deans Mathewson and Pareja highlighted thoughts of what the Law School aspired to do with the grant money from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation. A motion was made by Prof. Scott Hughes (including a friendly amendment) that one section of the Community Lawyering or Law Practice clinic be named "Child & Family Justice Clinic", was seconded by Prof. Sherri Thomas. Beth Gillia was called

on to discuss more in detail the outline of the W.K. Kellogg Foundation Grant, and opened the floor to the faculty for any questions or concerns. After discussion, a vote took place on the motion and passed with 1 abstention.

- **5. Hiring Plan– ACTION ITEM** Dean Sergio Pareja outlined for the faculty the current needs of the Law School, including a recent discussion about the lack of more senior level faculty members with the departure of Professors Bergman, Herring, Wang, and Tu, and the upcoming retirement of Prof. Eileen Gauna. A motion was made by Prof. Nathalie Martin to consider hiring for the following positions during the 2016-17 academic year:
- 1) Environmental /Natural Resources Clinic; 2) Child & Family Justice clinic; and
- 3) Commercial Law with a possible interest in Intellectual Property law. After being seconded by Prof. Scott Hughes, the motion was opened for discussion. A friendly amendment was made by Prof. Camille Carey regarding the position for Commercial Law to be advertised as follows: "preference given to someone with experience in General Legal Services, but with interest /or specific interest in Children and Family Law." The friendly amendment was agreed to and passed the vote with 1 no vote.
- **6. Faculty Retention, Promotion & Tenure Committee (FRPT) ACTION ITEM** Prof. Scott Hughes made a motion to take the permanent policy on promotion of Lecturers from the table, citing the complex issues that need to be addressed, and the work to be done on drafting language for the final lecturer policy. The vote passed with 2 abstentions.

Prof. Hughes then made a motion to refer this topic of the permanent policy back to the FRPT Committee to produce and recommend a permanent policy for vote by the full faculty no later than the faculty meeting of October 2016. The motion was seconded by Prof. Sherri Thomas. The vote passed unanimously.

Prof. Hughes made a third motion to extend the "Sunset" term of the temporary policy to December 31, 2016, and for the permanent policy to be in final form no later than the last faculty meeting scheduled in December 2016. This was seconded by Prof. Jenny More, and it passed unanimously.

7. Committee on Student Retention, Suspension and Readmission – ACTION ITEM – Prof. Scott England discussed the 3 substantive changes outlined in the handouts distributed prior to this meeting for review. The proposed Policy changes come as a motion made and seconded. After discussion of the proposed changes, a motion was made by Prof. Marsha Baum to continue this discussion to the Fall 2016 semester, seconded by Prof. Alex Ritchie, and passed with 1 no and 2 abstain votes.

A motion to adjourn was made by Prof. Scott Hughes and seconded by Prof. Camille Carey, and passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 4:58 p.m.