Faculty Meeting Minutes February 23, 2016

Faculty: Stan Adelman, Kip Bobroff, Sherri Burr, Yael Cannon, Camille Carey, Eileen Gauna, Scott Hughes, Lucretia Jaramillo, John LaVelle, Nathalie Martin, Serge Martinez, Alfred Mathewson, Jennifer Moore, Adrian Oglesby, Aliza Organick, Mary Pareja, Sergio Pareja, Alex Ritchie, Leo Romero, Alexandra Siek, Carol Suzuki. Sherri Thomas, Kevin Tu, Cliff Villa, Peter Winograd

Staff and Students: Krista Allen, Stephanie Grant, Cyndi Johnson, Raylene Weis Anne Minard (3L), Keri Rezac (2L), Tess Williams (1L)

The meeting was called to order by Dean Sergio Pareja at 3:09 pm.

1. Announcements:

- Prof. Jenny Moore and Prof. Carol Suzuki Co-Chairs of the Assessment and Teaching Committee – gave advance notice regarding the online survey for student learning outcomes. The email will be distributed on February 29, and be available for 3 weeks only. The survey will take approximately 1 hour for all 4 courses.
- 2. Approval of Minutes of January 19, 2016 meeting. By motion made and seconded by Prof. Scott Hughes and Prof. Natalie Martin, the meeting minutes from the January 19th faculty meeting passed unanimously upon vote, with friendly amendments of corrections to spelling of attendee names.
- 3. Building & Safety Committee report –.Prof. Cliff Villa gave updates on enhancements that have already been completed new filtered water dispensers in the building; parking lot lighting fixtures have been replaced. In process the draft Emergency Plan for the school was submitted to the Provost's office in December 2015; the Plan will be discussed in more detail at a future faculty meeting. Updated safety feature taking place: an emergency call box will be installed in each classroom during the spring break. Other security features being considered: access swipe cards for entering the building, for access to the Hart Wing after hours, and to the Mountain Wing, along with installation of doors to close-off the Mountain Wing after hours. Security cameras will also be discussed.

All attendees who were not eligible to be included in the discussion and vote for Tenure and Promotion were dismissed from the meeting.

- 4. Action Item: Faculty Retention, Promotion & Tenure Discussion –Prof. Dave Sidhu– Chair Scott Hughes reported on the Committee's work regarding the tenure and promotion. After the presentation by the Committee (Scott Hughes, Aliza Organick, Reed Benson, Ruth Kovnat), the Committee enthusiastically recommends both tenure and promotion to Full Professor to the Provost for Professor Dave Sidhu. Upon vote by eligible voting faculty, tenure was supported, with 1 abstention; and the vote for promotion to Full Professor was passed, with 2 abstentions.
- 5. Order of the Coif All remaining faculty who were not members of the Order of the Coif were dismissed from the meeting. Order of the Coif discussion and vote took place on the subject of admitting two schools to the Order of the Coif. Upon voting for each: The University of Denver unanimous; and Georgia State University unanimous.

The meeting was adjourned by motion and vote at 5:00 pm.