Faculty Meeting Tuesday, October 14, 2014

The meeting was called to order by Dean David Herring at 3:10 p.m.

Faculty: George Bach, Marsha Baum, Reed Benson, Camille Carey, Scott England,

Eileen Gauna, Marquita Harnett, David Herring, Steven Homer, Lucretia Jaramillo, April Land, John LaVelle, Jennifer Laws, Ernesto Longa, Serge Martinez, Max Minzner, Aliza Organick, Mary Pareja, Sergio Pareja, Gordon Rahn, Michelle Rigual, Alex Ritchie, Dave Sidhu, Alexandra Siek,

David Stout, Carol Suzuki, Sherri Thomas, Lu-in Wang, Peter Winograd

Student Representatives: Doreen Jameson (3L), Anne Minard (2L), Jeremy Faulkner (1L)

Staff: Raylene Weis, Krista Allen, Jeffery Dubinski-Neessen, Stephanie Grant,

Heather Harrigan, Cyndi Johnson, Hannah Parker

1. Approval of Minutes – After motion made, minutes were unanimously approved for the September 23, 2014 meeting.

2. Announcements -

- ABA Site Team Visit Dean Herring related comments and overall positive report from the recent ABA Site Team visit.
- Professorship Criteria and Awards Dean Herring stated the criteria that were used to determine the 2014 Faculty Professorship Awards and Chair awards. The recipients are as follows:
 - o Prof. Sherri Burr Dickason Chair, term of 5 years
 - o Prof. Sergio Pareja Weihofen Chair, term of 5 years
 - o Prof. Marsha Baum Dickason Professorship, term of 2 years
 - o Prof. John LaVelle Dickason Professorship, term of 2 years
 - o Prof. Reed Benson Weihofen Professorship, term of 2 years
 - o Prof. Jenny Moore Weihofen Professorship, term of 2 years
 - o Prof. Aliza Organick Regents' Professorship, 2014-15
 - o Prof. Serge Martinez Regents' Lecturer, 2014-15
- **3. Reports** The following committees gave reports and updates on activities and ongoing events: Faculty Appointments Committee (Aliza Organick), Ad Hoc Committee for Legal Writing Faculty Search (Michelle Rigual), Faculty Retention, Promotion and Tenure Committee (Carol Suzuki), Assessment and Teaching Committee (Aliza Organick), Student Retention, Suspension and Readmission Committee (April Land), and Admissions Office and Pipeline Committee (Jeffery Dubinski-Neessen).

The Pipeline Committee (Jeffery Dubinski-Neessen) is also soliciting persons interested in volunteering to assist with outreach to the Eight Northern Pueblos and speaking with various student and community leaders to help bring legal education and social justice opportunities to them.

- **4. Discussion Item Law Library Director Search** Several options for the faculty to consider in proceeding with the search were presented. Discussion included implications of the various options, including faculty resource implications. After the discussions, it was decided that this topic would be placed on the agenda for the next faculty meeting in order to continue the discussion.
- **5. Discussion Item Law School Strategic Planning** The memo that was sent to Provost Chaouki Abdallah was discussed, as well as returning to the focal point of "what do we really want to do with the strong foundation already laid" what areas do faculty members want to prioritize so that a focused strategic plan can be laid out by the end of AY2014-15. At the conclusion of the discussion, the Faculty Governance Committee asked each faculty member to submit up to three priority items for consideration.

Meeting was adjourned at 4:35 p.m.