Faculty Meeting Minutes Tuesday, April 14, 2015

The meeting was called to order by Dean David Herring at 3:09 p.m.

Faculty: Grace Allison, Marsha Baum, Barbara Bergman, Sherri Burr, Yael Cannon, Barbara Creel, Jim Ellis, Scott England, Eileen Gauna, Beth Gillia, Marquita Harnett, David Herring, Lucrecia Jaramillo, Ruth Kovnat, April Land, John LaVelle, Ernesto Longa, Serge Martinez, Alfred Mathewson, Max Minzner, Jennifer Moore, Adrian Oglesby, Daniel Ortega, Mary Pareja, Sergio Pareja, Michelle Rigual, Leo Romero, David Sidhu, Alexandra Siek, David Stout, Carol Suzuki, Sherri Thomas, Kevin Tu, Luin Wang, and Peter Winograd.

Staff: Krista Allen, Mary Dewey, Hannah Parker, Beth Gillia, Stephanie Grant

Approval of Minutes: A motion was made by Prof. Scott England and seconded to approve the meeting minutes from the March 24, 2015 and when voted on passes unanimously.

Announcements:

- Dean Herring announced that a volunteer was needed to serve on the Senate Graduate and Professional Committee. Anyone interested in filling this position should contact the Dean.
- Peter Winograd is collecting financial donations for the student awards being presented in May. If professors had not yet contributed, they should contact Peter.
- The Committee Preference Form was sent out to members of the faculty. Please complete and return as soon as possible.
- Nathalie Martin's term as Associate Dean of Faculty will be coming to an end. Anyone interested in serving in this position should contact Dean Herring.

Kellogg Grant Discussion:

Barbara Bergman, Yael Cannon and Beth Gillia presented an overview of what had been accomplished so far in the application process for the Kellogg Grant. A tentative blueprint has been created for the NM Center for Child and Family Justice at UNM School of Law. Positive feedback was received from members of the faculty attending the meeting as to how their current courses could be incorporated into the program. The grant proposal needs to be completed and submitted by September 2015.

Honors and Awards Committee Nominations

Jenny Moore presented the roster of graduating students winning awards to the faculty for endorsement. Leo Romero made a motion to accept the nominations and Sherri Burr seconded. John LaVelle than made some clarifying remarks regarding two of the award recipients and their selection. The motion was voted on and passed unanimously. Jenny Moore requested faculty members volunteer to make the presentations at the award ceremony.

A motion was made to adjourn, was seconded and carried.