UNM SCHOOL OF LAW FACULTY MEETING

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

The meeting was called to order by Dean David Herring at 3:05 p.m.

Attendance

Faculty:

Grace Allison, George Bach, Marsha Baum, Reed Benson, Sherri Burr, Jim Butler, Yael Cannon, Camille Carey, Barbara Creel, Jim Ellis, Scott England, Chris Fritz, Eileen Gauna, David Herring, Steven Homer, April Land, John LaVelle, Antoinette Sedillo Lopez, Nathalie Martin, Alfred Mathewson, Max

Minzner, Jennifer Moore, Michael Norwood, Marilyn O'Leary, Ted Occhialino, Aliza Organick, Daniel Ortega, Sergio Pareja, Carol Parker,

Gordon Rahn, Liz Rapaport, Michelle Rigual, Alex Ritchie, David Stout, Carol Suzuki, Sherri Thomas, Kevin Tu, Gloria Valencia-Weber, Lu-in Wang, Peter

Winograd, Jeanette Wolfley, Christine Zuni Cruz

Participating via conference call: Dave Sidhu

Students: Stephen Ralph

Sr. Staff/Staff: Krista Allen, Jeffery Dubinski-Neessen, Stephanie Grant, Heather

Harrigan, William Jackson, Cyndi Johnson, Pam Lambert, Hannah

Parker, Bonnie Stepleton, Raylene Weis

I. Welcome and Announcements

Dean Herring welcomed the faculty and senior administrative staff to the first faculty meeting of the new school year. Three new members were introduced and welcomed: Professor Jeanette Wolfley, Professor Lu-in Wang, and Visiting Lecturer Scott England.

Dean Herring announced that the Professorship Awards Program was being suspended for the Fall semester. The funds will be used to enhance and transform the Summer Scholarship and Teaching Innovation Program.

- II. Asst. Dean Bonnie Stepleton reported on Orientation for the incoming 1L class. She discussed a few changes to the agenda over last year that were made. Background information was shared on the numerous legal professionals who do Ethics and Professional classes and seminars for the students, as well as the many areas of support that are provided from the Office of Career and Student Services.
- III. Asst. Dean Jeffery Dubinski-Neessen reported on Admissions, providing the demographic breakdown of the 1L class, and final enrolled numbers.
- IV. Asst. Dean Heather Harrigan reported on Career Services. Information was shared on the statistics for our graduates and the employment figures. Bar exam results were also shared.

V. Asst. Dean Hannah Parker provided an update on Communications. She reported that the Marketing position had been filled by Tamara Williams. An update was shared on the recent changes to the Law School website, along with mention of future changes and enhancements that would be made. She encouraged everyone to share their feedback through the communication@law.unm.edu email account, and explained the email was linked to an automatic ticketing que system to better prioritize the requests being submitted.

At 4:05 p.m., all attendees at the meeting who were not members of the Order of the Coif adjourned.

VI. Asst. Dean William Jackson provided a list of nominees to the remaining faculty and senior staff to be approved and voted on.

A motion to approve the list of nominees as presented was made by Professor Reed Benson, seconded by Professor Jenny Moore, and when voted on, was unanimously approved.

A separate motion was made by Professor Peter Winograd to admit all faculty members who wanted to be members of the Coif, was seconded by Professor Aliza Organick, and when voted on, was unanimously approved.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:10 p.m.