UNM SCHOOL OF LAW FACULTY MEETING

Tuesday, March 4, 2008

The meeting was called to order at 4:03 p.m.

Attendance: Marsha Baum, Norman Bay, Barbara Bergman, Kip Bobroff, Sherri Burr, Louis

Caldera, Barbara Creel, Eileen Gauna, Scott Hughes, April Land, John LaVelle, Antoinette Sedillo Lopez, Nathalie Martin, José Martinez, Alfred Mathewson,

Jenny Moore, Mike Norwood, Ted Occhialino, Carol Parker, Suellyn

Scarnecchia, Rob Schwartz, Gloria Valencia Weber

Staff: Sandra Bauman

I. Faculty Affairs - Report to Committee on Promotion, Tenure and Reappointment; separate minutes were taken.

II. Faculty Discussion

- a. A motion was made and seconded to have a discussion among the faculty of the desired values and characteristics of the Interim Dean. Upon a vote the motion carried with 13 in favor, 4 against and 2 abstentions.
- b. Discussion ensued.
- c. A motion was made and seconded to ask the Provost for additional time, and to convene another meeting, limited to attendance by tenure and tenure-track faculty under personnel policy, to continue discussion on this area possibly facilitated by an outside facilitator. Upon a vote the motion carried with 13 in favor, 0 opposed and 4 abstentions.

III. Shanara Gilbert Award Nomination

- a. Associate Dean Antoinette Sedillo Lopez gave a brief description of the Shanara Gilbert Award and moved to nominate as a faculty Assistant Professor Carol Suzuki. There were many seconds.
- b. Upon a vote the motion carried unanimously.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:54 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sandra Bauman Administrative Assistant to the Dean