Executive Session Faculty Meeting Minutes

December 3, 2021

The meeting was called to order at 2:02 pm by Dean Sergio Pareja, once a quorum was reached. The following people were present for at least some portion of the meeting:

<u>Faculty</u>: George Bach, Reed Benson, Camille Carey, Barbara Creel, Elizabeth Elia, Scott England, Sonia Gipson Rankin, Marc-Tizoc González, Veronica Gonzales-Zamora, Vinay Harpalani, Steven Homer, John Kang, Joshua Kastenberg, John LaVelle, Jennifer Laws, Nathalie Martin, Serge Martinez, Jennifer Moore, Gabriel Pacyniak, Mary Leto Pareja, Sergio Pareja, Michelle Rigual, Lysette Romero Córdova, Joseph Schremmer, Alexandra Siek, Laura Spitz, Sarah Steadman, Carol Suzuki, Sherri Thomas, Clifford Villa, Samuel Winder (19 needed for quorum; names that count toward quorum in bold)

Staff: Beverly Akin and Emilie McVay-Ash

Action Items (voting faculty only):

Action Item: Discussion and Vote on hiring Laura Gomez:

Professor Laura Spitz briefly reviewed Laura Gomez's qualifications.

40% Acceptability Round: In the first round of voting, faculty members voted by secret ballot to accept the proposal to hire Laura Gomez with tenure. More than 40% of the faculty voted in the affirmative.

60% Offer Round: The faculty voted by secret ballot, and more than 60% agreed that, subject to Provost approval, the Dean would extend an offer to Laura Gomez to join the UNM School of Law faculty as a tenured Professor.

Action Item: Discussion and vote on candidates for the NREL position- Dean Sergio Pareja:

Members of the committee gave brief reports on the reference checks for each candidate.

40% Acceptability Round: In the first round of voting, faculty members voted by secret ballot for each of the five candidates they consider acceptable for the NREL position. All five candidates received more than 40% of the faculty votes. Discussion about all five candidates followed this vote.

The Ranking Round: Following a discussion on the strengths and weaknesses of each candidate, faculty voted by secret ballot and selected only one candidate whom they preferred. In the initial vote, none of the candidates received a majority of the votes; therefore, a Runoff Round was necessary.

Runoff Round: Faculty voted by secret ballot for the one candidate out of the top two candidates from the Ranking Round whom they preferred. One candidate received more than 50% of the votes and moved to the official #1 spot.

Second Ranking Round: The faculty voted by secret ballot for the one candidate they preferred from the remaining four. One candidate received more than 50% of the votes and moved to the #2 spot.

Third Ranking Round: The faculty by secret ballot voted for the one candidate they preferred from the remaining three candidates. One candidate received more than 50% of the vote and moved to the #3 spot.

Fourth Ranking Round: The faculty by secret ballot voted for the one candidate they preferred from the remaining two candidates. One candidate received more than 50% of the vote and moved to the #4 spot. The remaining candidate moved to the #5 spot.

60% Offer Round: The faculty voted to extend offers in the order the candidates were ranked in the Ranking Rounds. All five of candidates received at least 60% of the votes in this round. As a result of this vote, it was decided that, subject to Provost approval, the Dean would offer the position to the top ranked candidate. If that person does not accept, the Dean will offer the position to the second ranked candidate. If that person does not accept, the Dean will offer the position to the third ranked candidate. If that person does not accept, the Dean will offer the position to the fourth ranked candidate. If that person does not accept, the Dean will offer the position to the fifth ranked candidate.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:47PM.