From: Washburn, Kevin

Sent: Thursday, September 27, 2012 10:28 AM

To: Faculty; Staff

Subject: New Chairs/Professorships/Awards for 2012-13

Dear Colleagues – I have been working off and on for a couple of months on the professorships for this year. When the nomination occurred, I wondered whether I should be the one making these decisions, but I decided to go ahead and make the decisions before I leave because I was the person who handled the evaluations for last year. Thank you, as usual, for your patience. And congratulations! Kevin

NEW CHAIRS/PROFESSORSHIPS/AWARDS FOR 2012-13

For his national contributions to historical legal scholarship on constitutionalism, his energetic committee service and strong leadership in our community, our chief legal historian, **Chris Fritz**, is awarded the **Henry Weihofen Chair in Law** for a five-year term from 2012 to 2017.

For her incredible devotion to the law school for more than two decades and her excellent national reputation in the field of criminal defense, **Barbara Bergman** is awarded the **Pamela Minzner Chair in Professionalism** for a five-year term from 2012 to 2017.

For her active and prolific scholarly agenda, her strong and selfless committee leadership, and the many contributions that she has made to the School of Law, **Elizabeth Rapaport** is awarded the **Hatch Professorship** for 2012-13.

For her innovative and wide-ranging scholarly endeavors and service to the School of Law, such as her spectacular service in developing and broadening the faculty colloquia to the judiciary and the American Law Institute, Professor **Sherri Burr** is awarded the **Regent's Professorship** for 2012-13

For his excellent service to the School of Law even on his year away on sabbatical, including developing a new international program, and his strong commitment to teaching and scholarly endeavors, Professor **Sergio Pareja** is awarded the **Keleher & McLeod Professorship** for 2012-14.

For her national service work in legal education which brings national attention to our law school, her strong commitment to rigorous teaching, her incredible commitment to the clinic, and in order to support her interests in comparative law, Professor Carol "Quiche" Suzuki is awarded the Don L. and Mabel F. Dickason Professorship for 2012-2014.

In recognition of her very important scholarly contributions to international law and human rights, including the recent publication of her book with the Oxford University Press, Professor **Jenny Moore** is awarded the **Ron and Susan Friedman Award for Faculty Excellence** for 2012-13.

For her consistent and thoughtful scholarly contributions to pedagogy and rhetoric, her leadership of our writing program and commitment to tinkering and innovation to make that program better, and her sheer hard work, **Barbara Blumenfeld** is awarded a **W. Garrett Flickinger Award for Faculty Excellence** for 2012-13.

To support her entrepreneurial and fascinating exploration of comparative animal and disaster law, particularly in Australia, Marsha Baum is awarded the inaugural Dean's International Fellowship.

To formally recognize his leadership in welcoming our new faculty members to the School of Law and insuring their success and for his commitment to scholarship, **Max Minzner** is named **Associate Dean for Faculty Development**.

For her excellent leadership and teaching in the clinic and the classroom, Professor Camille Carey is awarded a W. Garrett Flickinger Award for Faculty Excellence.

For his important and prodigious scholarly contributions, committed teaching, and broad service inside and outside the School of Law, Professor **Dawinder "Dave" Sidhu** is awarded a **Regents Lectureship** for 2012-13.

For his important leadership over the summer in developing the faculty retreat and his important scholarly endeavors, **John LaVelle** is awarded the **Dean's Award for Distinguished Law School Service**.

For his indefatigable commitment to our students, his hard work, and in recognition of his national reputation for excellence, **Steven Homer** is awarded the **Dean's Awards for Faculty Excellence**.

For his consistent high quality service to our clinical law students and his commitment to our law school (and even though it is highly unusual to make an award to a visiting professor), Professor Jim Butler is awarded the Dean's Award for Distinguished Law School Service.

For working hard to develop a vision for broader water policy initiatives and her ability to think big in this area, **Denise Fort** is awarded the **Dean's Awards for Faculty Excellence**.

Continuing service.

Jim Ellis remains our only University Distinguished Professor, our highest ranking professor.

Nathalie Martin continues to serve as the Frederick M. Hart Chair in Consumer and Clinical Law.

Alfred Mathewson continues to serve as the Henry Weihofen Chair in Law.

Professor Christine Zuni Cruz will continue service in her second year of the Don L. and Mabel F. Dickason Professorship, awarded for 2011-13.

Eileen Gauna serves the second year of the **Don L. and Mabel F. Dickason Professorship**, awarded for 2011-13.

Antoinette Sedillo Lopez also continues to serve in the second year of the **Don L. and Mabel F. Dickason Professorship**, awarded for 2011-13.

Reed Benson serves the second year of the **Keleher & McLeod Professorship** awarded for 2011-13.

Kevin K. Washburn Dean & Professor of Law University of New Mexico School of Law 1117 Stanford NE MSC11 6070 1 University of New Mexico Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001

PH: 505.277.4700 FAX: 505.277.1597

washburn@law.unm.edu

Web profile: http://lawschool.unm.edu/faculty/washburn/index.php

Google Scholar page: http://bit.ly/KevinWashburnScholar

Papers: http://ssrn.com/author=334714