From: Washburn, Kevin
Sent: Thursday, November 03, 2011 1:37 PM
To: Faculty; Staff
Subject: Faculty Chairs/Professorships/Awards for 2011-12

Dear Colleagues – One of the hardest jobs the administration ever has is determining how to award a limited number of chairs, professorships, and faculty awards among many hard-working and deserving faculty. Thank you for your patience. After consultation with Associate Dean Barbara Bergman and much careful thought, I have decided to make the awards as follows. We congratulate each of you for earning these awards. Kevin

NEW CHAIRS/PROFESSORSHIPS/AWARDS FOR 2011-12

As has already been announced, **Jim Ellis** has become our only **University Distinguished Professor**, placing him in a class of one at the School of Law and our highest ranking professor. This is a permanent award and Professor Ellis will hold this rank forever.

Also has also previously been announced, **Nathalie Martin** is the inaugural recipient of the **Frederick M. Hart Chair in Consumer and Clinical Law** for a five-year term from 2011-16.

For his indefatigable leadership in the School of Law and across the University, and his steady scholarly production for his entire career, Alfred Mathewson is awarded the **Henry Weihofen Chair in Law** for a five-year term from 2011-16.

For her energetic committee service, community leadership, and commitment to historical scholarship for our legal community, **Antoinette Sedillo Lopez** is awarded a **Don L. and Mabel F. Dickason Professorship** for 2011-13.

For his prodigious scholarly achievements during the past year and his leadership of the Natural Resources Journal and our Environmental and Natural Resources program, **Reed Benson** is awarded the **Keleher & McLeod Professorship** for 2011-13.

For her steady leadership both locally and nationally in the environmental justice arena and her service to the School of Law, **Eileen Gauna** is awarded a **Don L. and Mabel F. Dickason Professorship** for 2011-13.

In recognition of her very important scholarly contributions to human rights, including her forthcoming book, **Jenny Moore** is awarded the **Regents Professorship** for 2011-12.

For her contributions to the field of Indian law through her scholarship, the founding and stewardship of the Tribal Law Journal and her long service in the Southwest Indian Law Clinic, as well as her leadership in our Indian law program, **Christine Zuni Cruz** is awarded a **Don L. and Mabel F. Dickason Professorship** for 2011-13.

For bringing his strong teaching ability and scholarly talent to New Mexico this year, **Max Minzner** has been awarded the **Regents Lectureship** for 2011-12.

For her creative international scholarly endeavors and her scholarly productivity and services to the School of Law, **Marsha Baum** is awarded the **Friedman Award for Faculty Excellence.**

For his leadership in the area of Indian law and important scholarly contributions to the field, John LaVelle is awarded the W. Garrett Flickinger Award for Faculty Excellence.

For her national service work in legal education which brings national attention to our law school, **Carol Suzuki** is awarded the **Friedman Award for Faculty Excellence**.

For taking over the leadership of the Utton Center and her long-standing service to causes in New Mexico and beyond, **Denise Fort** is awarded the **Dean's Award for Distinguished Law School Service**.

For their gifted and reliable effort, teamwork, leadership here at our school, and indefatigable commitment to our students, **Megan Argo**, **Barbara Blumenfeld**, and **Steven Homer** will each be awarded **Dean's Awards for Distinguished Law School Service**.

Continuing service. **Professor Chris Fritz** will continue service in his second year as a **Keleher & McLeod Professor**. **Professor Sherri Burr** will continue her two-year appointment as a **Dickason Professor**. Likewise, Professor **Sergio Pareja** completes his two year appointment in the **Hatch Professorship** this year.

Kevin K. Washburn Dean & Professor of Law University of New Mexico School of Law 1117 Stanford NE MSC11 6070 1 University of New Mexico Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001 PH: 505.277.4700 FAX: 505.277.1597 washburn@law.unm.edu Web profile: http://lawschool.unm.edu/faculty/washburn/index.php Papers: http://ssrn.com/author=334714